Sounds of Boney M

Few other groups are associated with the glamorous disco era such as Boney M, a Euro-Caribbean vocal group created in 1976 by German record producer Frank Farian, who was the group’s primary songwriter. Originally based in West Germany, the four original members of the group’s official line-up were Liz Mitchell and Marcia Barrett from Jamaica, Maizie Williams from Montserrat and Bobby Farrell, a performing artist from Aruba. Since the 1980s, various line-ups of the band have performed with different personnel. The band has released a total of 8 albums, sold around 80 million records worldwide and are known for their international hits including Daddy Cool, Ma Baker, Belfast, Sunny, Rasputin, Mary’s Boy Child – Oh My Lord and Rivers of Babylon.

Boney M’s distinctive sound of lush harmonies, powerful vocals and steady beats became a hallmark of the disco era. Their popularity declined as the disco era ended, but met a revival interest from audiences in the early 1990s, which had the band tour worldwide again. Today, their music, as packaged by its songwriter Frank Farian, is available worldwide for audiences, and, as a result of copyright processes, in many different group constellations but still under the project title Boney M. Whenever possible, the band is featuring the original members as a part of its line-up.

Relive the wonder days of the 70s disco era by enjoying the outstanding Sounds of Boney M live in concert, available for booking, including the original members Liz Mitchell and Sheyla Bonnick.